se logo European Computer Science Summit 2005
Department of Computer Science, ETH Zurich, 20 - 21 October 2005

eth logo epfl logo



Unless otherwise noted below, all sessions will take place in the ETH main building (Hauptgebäude), room G5.


20 October

08:00-09:00 Registration
09:00-09:30 Welcome and introduction: Bertrand Meyer, Willy Zwaenepoel
09:30-10:45 Session chair: Willy Zwaenepoel
    Keynote 1: Ed Lazowska, University of Washington & (US) Computing Research Association
10:45-11:15 Coffee break
11:15-12:45 Chair: Iliana Nikolova (University of Sofia, Bulgaria)

Short presentations and discussions:
  • Bologna process: implementation report
      Hans Hinterberger, ETH Zurich
  • Accreditation process
    • Thomas Ottmann, University of Freiburg
  • Women in computer science
    • Solange Ghernaouti-Helie, University of Lausanne HEC

  • Reports on experiences in various countries
    • SPECIF (France), Christine Choppy, Université Paris-Nord
      CPHC (UK), Andrew McGettrick, University of Strathclyde
      Fakultätentag (Germany), Gregor Engels, University of Paderborn
      South African CS heads organization, Jan Eloff, University of Pretoria (to be confirmed)
      Role of the ACM, Russell Shackelford, ACM
12:45-14:15 Lunch (ETH Dozentenfoyer)
14:15-16:00 Workshops (parallel sessions)
  • Attracting students to computer science - Room G5
      (Leadership: Oscar Nierstrasz, University of Berne)
  • Computer science education for non-computer scientists - Room G26.1
      (Leadership: Hans Hinterberger, ETH Zurich)
  • European perspectives for ICT research - Room G26.5
      (Leadership: Giorgio de Michelis, DISCo, University of Milano-Bicocca)
16:00-16:30 Coffee break
16:30-17:30 Workshop reports and discussion
18:30-20:30 Conference dinner (ETH Dozentenfoyer)


21 October

09:00-10:30 Session chair: Bertrand Meyer
    Keynote 2: Michael Ley, Universität Trier, maintainer of the DBLP bibliography server.

    Followed by discussion on research evaluation techniques and standards.

10:30-11:00 Coffee break
11:00-11:45 General discussion: curriculum issues, Bologna process
    (Leadership: Manfred Nagl, RTWH Aachen)
11:45-12:45 Final panel and discussion: Immediate actions and proposals, future events
    Panel chair: Willy Zwaenepoel
    Panelists: Roger Boyle, Christine Choppy, Gregor Engels, Bertrand Meyer, Oscar Nierstrasz
12:45-14:00 Lunch (ETH Dozentenfoyer)
Afternoon Post-conference program (optional): EPFL/ETH presentations
  • 14:00 – 14:30 Willy Zwaenepoel: Presentation of EPF Lausanne
  • 14:30 – 15:00 Bertrand Meyer: Teaching introductory programming: the outside-in approach
  • 15:00 – 15:30 Jürg Gutknecht: Lean native multiprocessor runtime kernels (Bluebottle)
  • 15:30 – 16:00 Peter Müller: Program verification with Spec# and Boogie
  • 16:00 – 16:45 Choice between:
    • Petros Koumoutsakos: Activities for large scale computations in Cell Biology and nanotechnology
    • Cary Kornfeld and Thomas Gross: Stereoscopic Imaging -- A Course&Lab for Undergraduate Students